Lord of the Rings LCG Companion

Lord of the Rings LCG Card Erratas

A Good Harvest

A Good Harvest

Q & A

Q: Can I use A Good Harvest (AtS 10) to play a 0 cost card without a resource match?

A: No. A Good Harvest only allows you to spend resources for the named sphere, a resource match is still needed to play cards with no resource cost.

A Watchful Peace

A Watchful Peace

Errata

Should read: "Response: After a location worth no victory points leaves play as an explored location..."

Against the Trolls

Against the Trolls

Q & A

Q: Is Against the Trolls (SoM 32) the final stage of Conflict at the Carrock?

A: Yes.

Amon Lhaw

Amon Lhaw

Q & A

Q: Are attachments already in play discarded when Amon Lhaw (SoM 84) becomes the active location?

A: No. Attachments only check play restrictions when entering play. Attachments already in play will stay attached.

Óin

Óin

Q & A

Q: When Oin (OtD 4) gains the tactics resource icon from his ability, does that count as the "printed" tactics ressource icon?

A: No. The "printed" resource icon always refers to the icon that appears in the Resource Icon space.

Banks of the Anduin

Banks of the Anduin

Q & A

Q: What happens to Banks of the Anduin (CORE 113) if it is drawn as a Shadow card?

A: It will be discarded from play at the end of the combat phase, like other Shadow cards. When a card is drawn as a Shadow card, only its Shadow text is considered to be active.

Below the Mines/Sheltered Rocks

Below the Mines/Sheltered Rocks

Q & A

Q: When players have separate staging areas at stage 4 of Foundations of Stone, can there be multiple copies of unique cards in play?

A: No. Players must still respect the rules for playing unique cards when they are split up. For example, if a player has Gandalf (CORE 73) in play, then no other player can play Gandalf.

Beravor

Beravor

Errata

Should read: "Action: Exhaust Beravor to choose a player. That player draws 2 cards. Limit once per Round."

Bitter Wind

Bitter Wind

Q & A

Q: If I can't discard 3 resources from all of my heroes due to Bitter Wind (KD 56), do I have to partially fulfill the effect?

A: Yes, players should resolve as much of any "discard" effect as they are able to.

Blade of Gondolin

Blade of Gondolin

Q & A

Q: If Legolas has a Blade of Gondolin (CORE 39) and destroys an enemy, can he trigger his response, finish off a quest card, and still place progress tokens on the next quest with the Blade of Gondolin's response?

A: Yes. Quest cards are immediately replaced as soon as players place enough progress on them, and this replacement does not interrupt the current round sequence. If the current quest card only needs 1 progress on it, then a player could also trigger the Blade's effect first, and then Legolas' in order to maximize the number of progress tokens placed. (There is no carry-over progress from an effect).

Blocking Wargs

Blocking Wargs

Errata

Should read: "Surge. When Revealed: Deal 1 damage to each character committed to the quest."

Omit the parenthetical.

Blue Mountain Trader

Blue Mountain Trader

Errata

Should read: "Then, that player moves 1 resource from the resource pool of a hero he controls to the resource pool of a hero you control, or Blue Mountain Trader is discarded. (Limit once per round.)"

Brand son of Bain

Brand son of Bain

Q & A

Q: Can Brand son of Bain (SoM 72) trigger his response if he participates in a ranged attack that defeats an enemy engaged with another player instead of declaring the attack himself ?

A: Yes. Declaring an attack and participating in an attack are both subsets of attacking. In both cases Brand attacks and can trigger his response if the enemy is defeated.

Caradhras

Caradhras

Q & A

Q: If Caradhras (DD 15) is in my victory display when I complete stage 2 of The Redhorn Gate, will it become the active location even though it is not in play?

A: Yes. You will remove Caradhras from your victory display and put it back into play as the active location. Cards in the victory display are not removed from the game and can still be referenced by effects. If players get too far ahead of themselves via card effects, they'll find a return journey is necessary!

Caught in a Web

Caught in a Web

Q & A

Q: How does a player resolve the situation in which a single hero has multiple copies of Caught in a Web (CORE 80) attached?

A: The player must pay for each copy of Caught in a Web before the hero can ready. Each copy of the card creates an independent condition that must be fulfilled before readying the attached hero, so if each condition is not fulfilled the hero cannot ready. End result, if a hero has two copies of Caught in a Web attached, the player will have to pay 4 resources from that hero's resource pool in order to ready the card.

Chieftan Ufthak

Chieftan Ufthak

Q & A

Q: When do "after this enemy attacks" Forced effects like those on Chieftan Ufthak (CORE 90) and Wargs (CORE 85) resolve?

A: These effects resolve immediately after step 4 of enemy attack resolution.

Counter-attack

Counter-attack

Errata

Should read: "When Revealed: Each player must either return the location he controls..."

Crazy Cob

Crazy Cob

Q & A

Q: If there are no characters with poison attached when Crazy Cob (OtD 29) is revealed from the encounter deck, does it still make an attack?

A: Yes. Since each character has 0 poison, the first player will choose which character Crazy Cob attacks.

Dúnedain of Annúminas

Dúnedain of Annúminas

Q & A

Q: When the first player takes control of a Dúnedain of Annúminas at stage 1, does he resolve its "when revealed" effect?

A: No.

Q: What happens when a Dúnedain of Annúminas is destroyed?

A: It is placed in the encounter deck discard pile.

Desperate Alliance

Desperate Alliance

Q & A

Q: If I give control of one of my heroes to another player with Desperate Alliance (OtD 10) and my other heroes are killed, am I eliminated from the game?

A: No. A player is not eliminated from the game unless each of his heroes is killed. The hero chosen by Desperate Alliance is still in play and will return to your control at the end of the phase.

Devilry of Saruman

Devilry of Saruman

Errata

Should read: “When Revealed: Place 3 progress on the main quest...”

Dol Guldur Beastmaster

Dol Guldur Beastmaster

Errata

Should read: "Forced: When Dol Guldur Beastmaster attacks..."

The additional shadow card is dealt when the Dol Guldur Beastmaster is chosen during step 1 of enemy attack resolution.

Dori

Dori

Q & A

Q: Can I use Dori (OHUH 9) to prevent damage from being assigned to Beorn (OHUH 5), even though Beorn is immune to player card effects?

A: Yes. Dori's Response targets the damage being assigned, not the character it is being assigned to, so Beorn's immunity does not factor.

Dungeon Jailor

Dungeon Jailor

Q & A

Q: Does Dungeon Jailer (CORE 101) shuffle guarded objectives back into the encounter deck?

A: Yes. Dungeon Jailer will shuffle any unclaimed objective, whether or not it is guarded.

Dungeon Torch

Dungeon Torch

Q & A

Q. Does a player with the Dungeon Torch (CORE 109) raise his threat by 2 or 3 during the refresh phase?

A: Dungeon Torch's effect does not replace the regular 1 threat raise, but adds to it. So the player with the Dungeon Torch raises his threat by 3.

Dwarrowdelf Axe

Dwarrowdelf Axe

Q & A

Q: If the effect on Dwarrowdelf Axe (KD 7) destroys an enemy, can I play Foe-hammer (OHUH 15)?

A: No. In order to play Foe-hammer, the attacking character must destroy the enemy. That means dealing enough damage to it with attack strength.

Eleanor

Eleanor

Ruling

The replacement card is also revealed from the encounter deck. Resolve any "When revealed" effects and keywords on the new card following the standard game rules.

Q & A

Q: If Eleanor (CORE 8) is used to cancel the "when revealed" effects of a treachery card, are any surge or doomed keywords on that card also canceled?

A: No. Eleanor only cancels the "when revealed" effects of the treachery card. Any surge or doomed keywords on the card resolve before the new (replacement) card is revealed.

Erebor Battle Master

Erebor Battle Master

Errata

Should read: "Erebor Battle Master gets +1 for each other Dwarf ally you control."

Expecting Mischief

Expecting Mischief

Q & A

Q: If I play Expecting Mischief (OHUH 18) and it deals enough damage to the first enemy revealed to destroy it, do I still resolve any "when revealed" or keyword effects on that enemy?

A: No. The effect on Expecting Mischief resolves the same way as the effect on Thalin (Core 6).

Expert Treasure-hunter

Expert Treasure-hunter

Errata

Should read: "Attach to a hero. Limit 1 per hero."

False Lead

False Lead

Q & A

Q: After False Lead (SF 25) is revealed and its effect resolves, do the players continue staging?

A: No. The quest phase ends immediately and the players do not continue staging.

Feint

Feint

Errata

Should read: "Combat Action: Choose an enemy engaged with a player. That enemy cannot attack that player this phase."

Q & A

Q: When should Feint (CORE 34) be played?

A: This card should be played any time before resolving step 1 of the target enemy's attack during the combat phase. (Once the act of resolving an enemy's attack begins, it is too late to prevent it from attacking with Feint.)

Fili

Fili

Errata


Ruling


Q & A

Q: Can you put Fili (OHUH 6) into play for free from your hand after you play Kili (OHUH 7)?

A: No. For either character's ability to work, the other character must enter play from your hand.





Fortune or Fate

Fortune or Fate

Q & A

Q: Can I use Fortune or Fate (CORE 54) to put Beorn (OHUH 5) into play from a player's discard pile, even though he is immune to player card effects?

A: Yes. A hero's ability is only active while it is in play. Therefore, Beorn is not immune to player card effects (such as Fortune or Fate) while he is in the discard pile.

Horn of Gondor

Horn of Gondor

Errata

Should read: “Response: After a character is destroyed, add 1 resource to attached hero’s pool.”

Impenetrable Fog

Impenetrable Fog

Errata

Should read: "When Revealed: The first player either places 3 progress tokens on To the Tower, or..."

Kili

Kili

Errata


Ruling


Q & A

Q: Can you put Fili (OHUH 6) into play for free from your hand after you play Kili (OHUH 7)?

A: No. For either character's ability to work, the other character must enter play from your hand.





Leaf-wrapped Lembas

Leaf-wrapped Lembas

Q & A

Q: If I use the ability on Leaf - wrapped Lembas (“Add Leaf-wrapped Lembas to the victory display , and remove it from the campaign pool, to ready all heroes in play.”) but I lose the scenario and have to play it again, do I still remove Leaf-wrapped Lembas from the campaign pool?

A: No. While removing the boon from the campaign pool is part of the cost to trigger the Action on each of the Gift attachments (Phial of Galadriel, Three Golden Hairs, Lórien Rope, or Leaf - wrapped Lembas), that decision should not be recorded until after the scenario is defeated. Even then, if the players are unhappy with the result, they may still choose not to record their results and try again.

Legolas

Legolas

Q & A

Q: Does the effect on Legolas (CORE 5) place progress tokens on an active location, if there is one?

A: Yes. Always place progress tokens on an active location instead of the quest, unless the ability specifically states to bypass any active location.

Q: If there is an active location with the text "Immune to player card effects" when Legolas participates in an attack that destroys an enemy, do I place 2 progress on the active location or the quest?

A: No. When Legolas' ability would put progress on the current quest, if there is an active location, it puts progress on that location instead. If that location is immune to player card effects, it ignores Legolas' ability. Therefore, no progress would be placed on the active location or the current quest.

Light of Valinor

Light of Valinor

Q & A

Q: If I have Light of Valinor (D 107) attached to a hero I control, can that hero commit to the quest while exhausted?

A: No. Characters must be ready and able to exhaust in order to quest, attack, or defend. Card effects that allow a character to perform any of those actions without exhausting do not allow exhausted characters to perform those actions.

Lost and Alone

Lost and Alone

Q & A

Q: How does the card Lost and Alone (DD 124) work? What if the hero gets attached to a Nameless Thing (DD 125) or was my last hero in play?

A: You only put the lost hero back into play if you draw the hero, whether during the resource phase or through a card effect. If the hero is discarded or attached to a card like a Nameless Thing, then treat it like any other card. In the latter situation, the value of the hero would be null, since it has no printed cost. If your last hero gets shuffled into your deck you are not eliminated from the game; heroes are not considered to be killed unless they are in your discard pile. You will continue playing until you either draw the hero, are eliminated through other means, or the game ends.

Lost in the Dark

Lost in the Dark

Errata

Should read: "When Revealed: Reveal stage 3 and create a separate staging area for the first player using that stage. If there are no other players in the game, discard this stage and each card in its staging area. All other players advance to stage 4."

Love of Tales

Love of Tales

Errata

Should read: “Response: After a Song card is played, exhaust Love of Tales to add 1 resource...”

Master of Lore

Master of Lore

Errata

Should read: "Action: Exhaust Master of Lore to name a card type. Lower the cost for you to play the next card of that type by 1 until the end of the phase (to a minimum of 1)."

Mines of Moria

Mines of Moria

Q & A

Q: If Mines of Moria (TRD 52) is in the staging area and there is an active location, where is progress placed first?

A: Progress must be placed on the Mines of Moria in the staging area before it can be placed on the active location because the game text on Mines of Moria overrides the game rules via the Golden Rule.

Nameless Thing

Nameless Thing

Q & A

Q: If a card is attached to Nameless Thing (D 125) as part of the resolution of its Forced effect, is that card's game text active?

A: No. Cards that are attached to Nameless Thing (or Elder Nameless Thing) as a result of triggering its Forced effect are considered attachments with no card title or game text. The only active part of the attached card is its cost.

Narvi's Belt

Narvi's Belt

Errata

Should read: "Action: Exhaust Narvi's Belt to give attached hero a , , , or icon until the end of the Phase."

Nazgûl of Dol Guldur

Nazgûl of Dol Guldur

Errata

Should have the text: "No attachments can be played on Nazgûl of Dol Guldur."

Q & A

Q: If I cancel the Shadow effect on a card dealt to the Nazgûl of Dol Guldur (CORE 102), is the effect still considered to have resolved, making me discard a character?

A: No. Resolving an effect means that the effect triggered and resolved to the fullest extent possible. Canceling the effect will prevent the Nazgûl of Dol Guldur's ability from triggering, just as if the card had no Shadow effect to begin with.

Nori

Nori

Errata

Should read: "Response: After you play a Dwarf character from your hand, reduce your threat by 1."

O Elbereth! Gilthonial!

O Elbereth! Gilthonial!

Errata

Title should read: "A Elbereth! Gilthoniel!" Should read: "Response: After a non-unique enemy attacks you..."

Out of Sight

Out of Sight

Errata

Should read: "Action: Enemies engaged with you cannot attack you this phase."

Out of the Dungeons

Out of the Dungeons

Errata

If a facedown Orc Guard would be returned to the staging area, it is instead placed in its owner's discard pile.

Q & A

Q: If all of a player's heroes (except for the captured hero) are destroyed during the Escape from Dol Guldur scenario, is that player eliminated from the game?

A: Yes, the player is eliminated, and the players (as a group) have lost.

Pelennor Fields

Pelennor Fields

Q & A

Q: If there are two copies of Pelennor Fields (MaO 10) in the staging area and I travel to one of them, do I still have to raise my threat by 3? What if I have the opportunity to travel and travel to neither of them?

A: If a card is self-referential, it refers only to that copy of itself. So if you travel to one copy of the pelennor Fields, the other copy will raise your threat by 3 because it only takes into account whether you traveled to that particular copy of the Pelennor Fields. So if you travel to neither copy, they both resolve and you must raise your threat by 6.

Protector of Lórien

Protector of Lórien

Errata

Should read: "Action: Discard a card from your hand to give attached hero +1 or +1 until the end of the phase. Limit 3 times per phase."

Quick Strike

Quick Strike

Q & A

Q: Can characters with the ranged keyword participate in an attack declared through the card Quick Strike (CORE 35)?

A: No. There is no opportunity for other characters to join a Quick Strike attack. One character is exhausted to pay for the cost of Quick Strike, and the effect is that the exhausted character is immediately declared as an attacker against the target enemy. The card's resolution does not allow for a standard declaration step in which other characters can declare.

Q: Can I use Quick Strike (Core 35) to declare an attack against an enemy that is immune to player card effects?

A: Yes. The effect of Quick Strike targets a character and allows that character to make an attack, therefore the chosen enemy's immunity does not factor.

Radagast

Radagast

Q & A

Q: When paying for a Creature with ressources from Radagast's (SoM 59) pool, is a resource match required?

A: No. Radagast's ability breaks the need for a ressource match if the resources are coming only from his pool. (If combining his resources with resources from a hero's pool, the hero's sphere must match the sphere of the Creature being played.)

Ranger Spikes

Ranger Spikes

Q & A

Q: If there is an unattached Ranger Spikes (HoN17) in the staging area when an enemy with the ambush keyword is revealed from the deck, what happens?

A: The Ranger Spikes will attach to that enemy, preventing the players from making the engagement checks for the ambush keyword.

Ravens of the Mountain

Ravens of the Mountain

Errata

Should read: "Action: Exhaust a hero you control to shuffle the encounter deck and look at its top card..."

Rebuild the Defenses

Rebuild the Defenses

Q & A

Q: What is the difference between a 'group' and a 'team'?

A: 'Group' refers to the 3–12 players who are participating in the event together. 'Team' refers to the 1–4 players at the same stage.

Q: What does it mean for a card to be "in a victory display"?

A: A card is in a victory display if it is in the victory display of any team in your group.

Q: Does damage on an enemy remain on that enemy when it moves to a different stage?

A: Yes.

Return to Rhosgobel

Return to Rhosgobel

Q & A

Q: Wilyador (SoM 64) cannot be healed of more than 5 wounds by a single effect, so how do I resolve the "when revealed" text on Return to Rhosgobel 3B (SoM62)?

A: Heal 5 wounds from Wilyador for each Athelas objective card as its own separate action.

Riddles in the Dark

Riddles in the Dark

Q & A

Q: While attempting to answer a Riddle in the scenario Dungeons Deep and Caverns Dim, when can players take actions?

A: Players can take actions after step 2, before step 3.

Sacked!

Sacked!

Q & A

Q: If a Sacked! (SoM 48) card is placed on a hero while that hero is questing is that hero removed from the quest?

A: No. Sacked! specifies only that the hero cannot commit to the quest, and the hero is already committed. However, the hero cannot commit to quests on future rounds while Sacked! is attached.

Sam Gamgee

Sam Gamgee

Q & A

Q: If I engage more than one enemy with a higher engagement cost than my threat, will the second part of Sam Gamgee's (TBR 2) ability trigger more than once, even if I cannot ready him more than once?

A: Yes. Because it does not use the word "then", Sam's bonus to , and is not dependent on him readying. His readying effect and his bonus to , and are two different effects that both have the trigger of engaging an enemy with a higher engagement cost than your threat.

Saruman

Saruman

Q & A

Q: If I use the Response effect on Saruman (VoI 3) to treat an encounter card guarding an objective as out of play, does that mean I can claim that objective because it is free of encounters?

A: No. When a card is considered to be out of play, each card attached to it is also considered to be out of play. Because objectives with the Guarded keyword are attached to the enemy or location that is guarding it, if that enemy or location is considered to be out of play, the guarded objective is too.

Q: If I am engaged with The Lord of the Dead (SoE 5) when I play Saruman (VoI 3), do I still have to raise each player's threat for his Doomed 3?

A: No. The moment Saruman enters play under your control, the passive effect on The Lord of the Dead causes you to treat his text box as blank, before the Doomed keyword can trigger.

Secret Entrance

Secret Entrance

Errata

Should read: "Then, look at the top card of the encounter deck. If the looked at card is not..."

Snow Warg

Snow Warg

Errata

Should read: "Forced: After a character is declared as a defender against Snow Warg..."

Son of Arnor

Son of Arnor

Q & A

Q: Can I use Son of Arnor (SoM 15) to engage The Watcher (DD 72), even though The Watcher reads "...cannot be optionally engaged"?

A: Yes. The ability on Son of Arnor does not count as optionally engaging The Watcher. Optional engagement only occurs during step 1 of the Encounter phase

Stand and Fight

Stand and Fight

Ruling

Stand and Fight cannot return neutral allies from the discard pile, as neutral cards do not belong to "any Sphere."

Sword-thain

Sword-thain

Q & A

Q: If I attach Sword-thain (AA 149) to a unique Lore ally (making that ally a hero), does the attached hero have the printed Lore icon?

A: Yes. If an ally with a printed sphere icon becomes a hero, that hero is also considered to have that printed sphere icon.

Q: If I use Sneak Attack (CORE 23) to put a unique ally into play during the planning phase and attach Sword-thain (AA 149) to that ally, is that ally returned to my hand at the end of the phase?

A: No. The ally that entered play with Sneak Attack is no longer an ally because it has Sword-thain attached, and Sneak Attack’s delayed effect no longer affects it.

Thalin

Thalin

Ruling

When an enemy card is revealed from the encounter deck, Thalin's ability resolves before any keyword or "When Revealed" card effects on the encounter card.

Q & A

Q: When an encounter card effects instructs me to search the encounter deck and discard pile for an enemy, reveal it, and add it to the staging area during a quest to which Thalin (CORE 6) is committed, does he still deal 1 damage to an enemy chosen from the discard pile?

A: Yes. Enemies revealed from the encounter deck and discard pile by quest card and encounter card effects are still considered to have been revealed by the encounter deck.

The Ambush

The Ambush

Errata

Should read: "At the beginning of the combat phase, each player must either turn each of his hidden cards faceup, or take 1 hidden card."

Q & A

Q: When playing The Blood of Gondor, if a card effect such as stage 1b of The Ambush (AtS 117) or Lying in Wait (AtS 129) turns each of my hidden cards faceup, and one of those cards forces me to take another hidden card, do I have to turn that card faceup as well?

A: No. When you are instructed to turn each of your hidden cards faceup, only the hidden cards that are currently in front of you at that time are turned faceup; any hidden cards you are forced to take as part of that effect, such as from Evil Crow (AtS 122), remain facedown in front of you.

The Balrog

The Balrog

Q & A

Q: How many keywords does The Balrog (RD 44) have?

A: One. Indestructible is the only keyword on The Balrog.

The Burglar's Turn

The Burglar's Turn

Q & A

Q: While making a Burgle attempt in The Lonely Mountain scenario, when can players take actions?

A: Players can take actions after step 2, before step 3.

The Cross-roads

The Cross-roads

Errata

Should read: "The current quest card gains siege (and loses battle)."

The Lord of the Dead

The Lord of the Dead

Q & A

Q: If I am engaged with The Lord of the Dead (SoE 5) when I play Saruman (VoI 3), do I still have to raise each player's threat for his Doomed 3?

A: No. The moment Saruman enters play under your control, the passive effect on The Lord of the Dead causes you to treat his text box as blank, before the Doomed keyword can trigger.

The Necromancer's Tower

The Necromancer's Tower

Errata

Should read: "... reveal and place them in the staging area."

Q & A

Q: During the Setup for stage 1A of The Necromancer's Tower (Core 123), should each objective have one encounter card attached to it, or two?

A: One. When you reveal a Guarded objective, you must reveal the top card of the encounter deck and attach it to that objective, guarding it. The additional instruction on The Necromancer's Tower to "... attach 1 encounter to each objective card" is there as a reminder, so that players know to attach 1 encounter card to each Guarded objective.

The Passage of the Marshes

The Passage of the Marshes

Errata

Should read: “Setup: Each player may change hero cards he controls without incurring the +1 threat penalty. Each player shuffles 1 copy...”

The Power of Mordor

The Power of Mordor

Errata

Should read: "...Reveal an equal number of cards from the encounter deck..." Omit the word "Then"

The Watcher

The Watcher

Q & A

Q: Can I use Son of Arnor (SoM 15) to engage The Watcher (DD 72), even though The Watcher reads "...cannot be optionally engaged"?

A: Yes. The ability on Son of Arnor does not count as optionally engaging The Watcher. Optional engagement only occurs during step 1 of the Encounter phase

Thicket of Spears

Thicket of Spears

Errata

Should read: "Action: Choose a player. That player's engaged enemies cannot attack that player this phase."

Thror's Map

Thror's Map

Errata

Should read: "Travel Action: Exhaust Thror's Map to choose a location in the staging area..." TM

Tower Gate

Tower Gate

Q & A

Q: Do the Orc Guards generated by the effects of the Tower Gate location card and the Out of the Dungeons quest card have the Orc Trait?

A: No. Face down cards do not have traits unless the trait is gained through a card effect.

Trained for War

Trained for War

Errata

Should read: "Action: Until the end of the phase, if the current quest does not have siege, it gains battle."

Treacherous Fog

Treacherous Fog

Q & A

Q: If a location is revealed after Treacherous Fog (CORE 118) was revealed during the same quest phase, does the revealed location get +1 from the "When Revealed" effect on Treacherous Fog?

A: Yes. The "When Revealed" effect on Treacherous Fog creates a lasting effect until the end of the phase that affects each location in the staging area. This is different from Driven by Shadow (CORE 92) which uses the language "currently in the staging area" when it is revealed and only affects enemies and locations in the staging area at the time it is revealed.

Troll Key

Troll Key

Errata

Should read: "If Troll Key is discarded, add it to the staging area. If Troll Key is unattached and in the staging area, attach it to a Troll enemy, if able."

Troll Purse

Troll Purse

Errata

Should read: "If Troll Purse is discarded, add it to the staging area. If Troll Purse is unattached and in the staging area, attach it to a Troll enemy, if able."

Vilya

Vilya

Q & A

Q: When I use the ability on Vilya (D 109) to play a card, do I still need a resource match?

A: No. Playing a card at "no cost" is different from playing a card for "0 cost." A 0 cost card still requires a resource match, however, playing a card at "no cost" removes the need for a resource match.

Wandering Took

Wandering Took

Q & A

Q: What happens if Wandering Took (CORE 43) changes control between players during combat after being declared as a defender?

A: As nothing removes Wandering Took from the combat or from play, it remains declared as a defenderagainst the attack. (The "defending player" does notchange, even though control of the defending character has changed.)

Wargs

Wargs

Q & A

Q: When do "after this enemy attacks" Forced effects like those on Chieftan Ufthak (CORE 90) and Wargs (CORE 85) resolve?

A: These effects resolve immediately after step 4 of enemy attack resolution.

We Are Not Idle

We Are Not Idle

Q & A

Q: When I play We Are Not Idle (D 129) and exhaust Bombur (OtD 5), do I get 2 resources?

A: No. Bombur's ability only works with cards that count the number of Dwarf characters you control. If you choose to exhaust Bombur with We Are Not Idle, you are still only exhausting 1 Dwarf character and will therefore only receive 1 resource.

Will of the West

Will of the West

Errata

Should read: "Action: Choose a player. Shuffle that player's discard pile back into his deck. Remove Will of the West from the game."

Zigil Miner

Zigil Miner

Errata

Should read: "Action: Exhaust Zigil Miner and name a number to discard the top 2 cards of your deck. If at least one of those cards has cost equal to the named number, choose a hero you control. For each card that matches the named number, add 1 resource to that hero's resource pool."

All cards - Errata only - Q&A only - Player cards only - Encounter cards only

The Steward's Fear A Good Harvest (Event)
Heirs of Númenor Deluxe Expansion A Watchful Peace (Event)
Conflict at the Carrock Against the Trolls (Quest)
The Hills of Emyn Muil Amon Lhaw (Location)
The Hobbit: On the Doorstep Saga Expansion Óin (Hero)
Journey Down the Anduin Banks of the Anduin (Location)
Foundations of Stone Below the Mines/Sheltered Rocks (Quest)
Core Set Beravor (Hero)
Misty Mountains Bitter Wind (Treachery)
Core Set Blade of Gondolin (Attachment)
Into Ithilien Blocking Wargs (Treachery)
Trouble In Tharbad Blue Mountain Trader (Ally)
The Hills of Emyn Muil Brand son of Bain (Hero)
The Redhorn Gate Caradhras (Location)
Spiders of Mirkwood Caught in a Web (Treachery)
Dol Guldur Orcs Chieftan Ufthak (Enemy)
Assault on Osgiliath Counter-attack (Treachery)
Flies and Spiders Crazy Cob (Enemy)
The Siege of Annúminas Dúnedain of Annúminas (Objective-Ally)
The Hobbit: On the Doorstep Saga Expansion Desperate Alliance (Event)
Helm's Deep Devilry of Saruman (Treachery)
Dol Guldur Orcs Dol Guldur Beastmaster (Enemy)
The Hobbit: Over Hill and Under Hill Saga Expansion Dori (Ally)
Escape From Dol Guldur Dungeon Jailor (Enemy)
Escape From Dol Guldur Dungeon Torch (Objective)
Khazad-dûm Deluxe Expansion Dwarrowdelf Axe (Attachment)
Core Set Eleanor (Hero)
The Long Dark Erebor Battle Master (Ally)
The Hobbit: Over Hill and Under Hill Saga Expansion Expecting Mischief (Event)
The Hobbit: On the Doorstep Saga Expansion Expert Treasure-hunter (Attachment)
The Steward's Fear False Lead (Treachery)
Core Set Feint (Event)
The Hobbit: Over Hill and Under Hill Saga Expansion Fili (Ally)
Core Set Fortune or Fate (Event)
Core Set Horn of Gondor (Attachment)
The Morgul Vale Impenetrable Fog (Treachery)
The Hobbit: Over Hill and Under Hill Saga Expansion Kili (Ally)
Breaking of the Fellowship Leaf-wrapped Lembas (Boon)
Core Set Legolas (Hero)
Foundations of Stone Light of Valinor (Attachment)
Foundations of Stone Lost and Alone (Treachery)
Flies and Spiders Lost in the Dark (Quest)
The Long Dark Love of Tales (Attachment)
Heirs of Númenor Deluxe Expansion Master of Lore (Ally)
Journey in the Dark Mines of Moria (Location)
Foundations of Stone Nameless Thing (Enemy)
Khazad-dûm Deluxe Expansion Narvi's Belt (Attachment)
Escape From Dol Guldur Nazgûl of Dol Guldur (Enemy)
The Hobbit: Over Hill and Under Hill Saga Expansion Nori (Hero)
Shadow and Flame O Elbereth! Gilthonial! (Event)
The Long Dark Out of Sight (Event)
Escape From Dol Guldur Out of the Dungeons (Quest)
The Massing at Osgiliath Pelennor Fields (Location)
Core Set Protector of Lórien (Attachment)
Core Set Quick Strike (Event)
A Journey to Rhosgobel Radagast (Ally)
Heirs of Númenor Deluxe Expansion Ranger Spikes (Attachment)
The Hobbit: On the Doorstep Saga Expansion Ravens of the Mountain (Event)
The Siege of Annúminas Rebuild the Defenses (Quest)
A Journey to Rhosgobel Return to Rhosgobel (Quest)
Dungeons Deep and Caverns Dim Riddles in the Dark (Quest)
Conflict at the Carrock Sacked! (Treachery)
The Lord of the Rings: The Black Riders Saga Expansion Sam Gamgee (Hero)
The Voice of Isengard Deluxe Expansion Saruman (Ally)
The Lonely Mountain Secret Entrance (Location)
The Redhorn Gate Snow Warg (Enemy)
Core Set Son of Arnor (Ally)
Core Set Stand and Fight (Event)
The Dread Realm Sword-thain (Attachment)
Core Set Thalin (Hero)
The Blood of Gondor The Ambush (Quest)
Journey in the Dark The Balrog (Enemy)
The Lonely Mountain The Burglar's Turn (Quest)
The Blood of Gondor The Cross-roads (Location)
The Stone of Erech The Lord of the Dead (Enemy)
Escape From Dol Guldur The Necromancer's Tower (Quest)
The Passage of the Marshes The Passage of the Marshes (Campaign)
Mordor Elite The Power of Mordor (Treachery)
The Watcher in the Water The Watcher (Enemy)
Core Set Thicket of Spears (Event)
The Hobbit: Over Hill and Under Hill Saga Expansion Thror's Map (Attachment)
Escape From Dol Guldur Tower Gate (Location)
The Drúadan Forest Trained for War (Event)
Sauron's Reach Treacherous Fog (Treachery)
We Must Away, Ere Break of Day Troll Key (Objective)
We Must Away, Ere Break of Day Troll Purse (Objective)
Shadow and Flame Vilya (Attachment)
Core Set Wandering Took (Ally)
Wilderlands Wargs (Enemy)
Shadow and Flame We Are Not Idle (Event)
Core Set Will of the West (Event)
Khazad-dûm Deluxe Expansion Zigil Miner (Ally)
LOTR LCG Quest Companion thread Cardboard of the Rings podcast The Grey Company podcast Hall of Beorn Card Search Tales from the Cards blog Master of Lore blog RingsDb