Lord of the Rings LCG Companion

Lord of the Rings LCG Companion

Escape from Dol Guldur

Core Set

FFG official difficulty rating

Players difficulty rating (7.8)

rated by 139 players

Rate this Quest:

Keywords

Doomed X

If an encounter card with the doomed keyword is revealed during the staging step of the quest phase or in setup, each player must raise his threat level by the specified value.

Surge

When an encounter card with the surge keyword is revealed during the staging step of the quest phase or in setup, reveal 1 additional card from the encounter deck. Resolve the surge keyword immediately after resolving any when revealed effects on the card.

Guarded

The guarded keyword is a reminder on some objective cards to reveal and attach the next card of the encounter deck to the objective when it enters the staging area from the encounter deck, and place them both in the staging area. The objective cannot be claimed as long as any encounter card is attached. Once that encounter is dealt with, the objective remains in the staging area until it is claimed. If another objective card comes up while attaching a card for the guarded keyword, place the second objective in the staging area, and use the next card of the encounter deck to fulfil the original keyword effect. Enemy and location cards attached to guarded objectives do still count their threat while the enemy or location is in the staging area. An encounter card attached to a guarded objective is dealt with in the following method, depending on its card type:

  • Enemy: The enemy leaves play, either by being defeated or as the result of a card effect.
  • Location: The location leaves play, either by being fully explored or as the result of a card effect.
  • Treachery: The treachery's effects resolve, or are cancelled (Treachery cards are immediately triggered when they are revealed.)

Once all encounter cards attached to a guarded objective are dealt with, the players can claim the objective in the manner specified by its card text.

Nazgûl of Dol Guldur

Nazgûl of Dol Guldur

Should have the text: "No attachments can be played on Nazgúl of Dol Guldur."

The Necromancer's Tower

The Necromancer's Tower

Should read: "... reveal and place them in the staging area."

Out of the Dungeons

Out of the Dungeons

If a facedown Orc Guard would be returned to the staging area, it is instead placed in its owner's discard pile.

Dol Guldur Beastmaster

Dol Guldur Beastmaster

Should read: "Forced: When Dol Guldur Beastmaster attacks..."

The additional shadow card is dealt when the Dol Guldur Beastmaster is chosen during step 1 of enemy attack resolution.

Q: Does Dungeon Jailer (CORE 101) shuffle guarded objectives back into the encounter deck?
A: Yes. Dungeon Jailer will shuffle any unclaimed objective, whether or not it is guarded.
Q: If I cancel the Shadow effect on a card dealt to the Nazgúl of Dol Guldur (CORE 102), is the effect still considered to have resolved, making me discard a character?
A: No. Resolving an effect means that the effect triggered and resolved to the fullest extent possible. Canceling the effect will prevent the Nazgúl of Dol Guldur's ability from triggering, just as if the card had no Shadow effect to begin with.
Q: Do the Orc Guards generated by the effects of the Tower Gate location card and the Out of the Dungeons quest card have the Orc Trait?
A: No. Face down cards do not have traits unless the trait is gained through a card effect.
Q. Does a player with the Dungeon Torch (CORE 109) raise his threat by 2 or 3 during the refresh phase?
A: Dungeon Torch's effect does not replace the regular 1 threat raise, but adds to it. So the player with the Dungeon Torch raises his threat by 3.
Q: During the Setup for stage 1A of The Necromancer's Tower (Core 123), should each objective have one encounter card attached to it, or two?
A: One. When you reveal a Guarded objective, you must reveal the top card of the encounter deck and attach it to that objective, guarding it. The additional instruction on The Necromancer's Tower to "... attach 1 encounter to each objective card" is there as a reminder, so that players know to attach 1 encounter card to each Guarded objective.
Q: If all of a player's heroes (except for the captured hero) are destroyed during the Escape from Dol Guldur scenario, is that player eliminated from the game?
A: Yes, the player is eliminated, and the players (as a group) have lost.
Q: When do "after this enemy attacks" Forced effects like those on Chieftan Ufthak (CORE 90) and Wargs (CORE 85) resolve?
A: These effects resolve immediately after step 4 of enemy attack resolution.
Q: How does a player resolve the situation in which a single hero has multiple copies of Caught in a Web (CORE 80) attached?
A: The player must pay for each copy of Caught in a Web before the hero can ready. Each copy of the card creates an independent condition that must be fulfilled before readying the attached hero, so if each condition is not fulfilled the hero cannot ready. End result, if a hero has two copies of Caught in a Web attached, the player will have to pay 4 resources from that hero's resource pool in order to ready the card.
During step 2 of Setup, "Place Heroes and Set Initial Threat Levels", add one resource to each hero's resource pool. Then remove the following cards:
  • Escape From Dol Guldur
    • 2x Dungeon Jailor
  • Dol Guldur Orcs
    • 1x Chieftain Ufthak
    • 1x Dol Guldur Beast Master
    • 1x Necromancer's Pass
    • 2x Necromancer's Reach
  • Spiders of Mirkwood
    • 2x Caught in the Web
    • 1x Eyes of the Forest
    • 1x Hummerthorns

To play normal mode, just follow the setup instructions on the quest card.

Basic game

When you play normal mode (or easy mode of course) and if you're new to the game, you can also play the "Basic Game" defined in the core set rules:

Newer players or players who want a more basic experience can play and enjoy the game by not dealing shadow cards during the combat phase. This eliminates an element of surprise that could make the game too challenging for a beginner. Once players are comfortable with this experience, they can then add the shadow effects to make combat less predictable and more exciting.

LOTR LCG Quest Companion thread Cardboard of the Rings podcast The Grey Company podcast Hall of Beorn Card Search Tales from the Cards blog Master of Lore blog RingsDb